Awards & Recognition

NILOA Awards & Recognition


Awards & Recognition

In 2015, NILOA member Nate Foote received his 50-year service award from another member of the "50-year-club" - Walt Munze

NILOA is very proud to recognize its members for their positive contributions to the sport of lacrosse, and to recognize the schools which we officiate for upholding all we believe to be right about the sport we love.

"Bernie Ulman Award"

The Bernie Ulman Award recipient shall be an individual who has contributed to the continued success of intercollegiate lacrosse officiating and when applicable has made a meaningful contribution to the game of lacrosse.

Bernie Ulman Award Recipients

1994 - Charles Libby
1995 - William E. Scroggs
1996 - Harvey Cohen
1997 - Caleb R. Kelly, Jr.
1998 - Steven B. Stenersen
1999 - Phil Butafucco
2000 - Mitch Tullai
2001 - Eric Rudolph
2002 - Robert Duggan
2003 - John Hill
2004 - Craig “Tick-Tock” Tillman
2005 - Bob Sandell
2006 - Bob Patterson
2007 - Bob Schweitzer
2008 - Fred Zensen
2009 - Bob Schulte
2010 - Mike O’Malley
2011 - Chuck Cohen
2012 - John Gibbons
2013 - Chuck Winters
2014 - Dan Coronel
2015 - Ed Schreiber
2016 - Greg Simon
2017 - Keith MacFie
2018 - Brad Scibak

"Frenchy Julian Award"

The Frenchy Julian Award recipient shall be an active or past member of the NILOA, or prior to the formation of the NILOA an intercollegiate lacrosse official, who has contributed to the continued success of the NILOA and, when applicable, has made a meaningful contribution to the game of lacrosse.

Frenchy Julian Award Recipients

1994 - Henry “Hank” Molloy
1995 - Matt Swerdloff
1996 - Mike Collver
1997 - Jake Curran
1998 - Al Blau
1999 - Roy Condon
2000 - Jim Carroll
2001 - Mel Tomalty
2002 - Richard Tamberrino
2003 - Craig Brown
2004 - Bob Mauney
2005 - Bob Durland
2006 - Tim Cullen
2007 - Walt Munze
2008 - Jim Carboneau
2009 - David Seidman
2010 - Ray Buckle
2011 - John McGrath
2012 - Gary Alabaster
2013 - Bob Curcio
2014 - Butch West
2015 - Warren Kimber
2016 - Bob Schwalb
2017 - Eric Evans
2018 - Steve Miller

"Jim 'Ace' Adams Team Sportsmanship Awards"

Ace Adams Biography

The Jim "Ace" Adams Award for Sportsmanship is administered through each region/district and may be given to an institution serviced by the NILOA within the region/district. The recipient institution will be judged on behavior of coaches, players, fans, and facilities available to officials and administration of cooperation with officiating crews.

Awards & Recognition

Awards & Recognition

Awards & Recognition

"NILOA Membership Awards"

NILOA recognizes its members who have served the sport of lacrosse as officials as their careers endure the test of time.

2017 Awards:

60-Year Award
Bill Mason

55-year Award
Al Blau

 45-Year Award
Bruce Crawford

 40-Year Award
Rob Wyman, Jay Liegy

 35-Year Award
Mike Ferrarini, Kevin Colley

 30-Year Award
Dan Murphy, John Price, Anthony Pironti, Andrew Still

25-Year Award
Mike Coleman, Gene Brown, Evan Carlson, Tucker Sargeant

 20-Year Award
John Talmo, Mathew Croteau, Jason Costello, Tom Diamond, Bob Graham, Ray McDonald, Harold Buck, Russ Ramsey, Mark Harrison, Joe Cronin, Juarez Newsome, Jim Elliott

2016 Awards:

45-Year Award
Bob McLaughlin, Bob Paterson, Dave White, Jim O'Hara, Skip Spensieri, Ted Murphy

35-Year Award
Bill Devine, Buzz Lynn, Coz DeLillo, Dave Ellison, Dave Seidman, Hank Molloy, Jamie Stowell, John Sheehan, Keith Markey, Nick Tropiano, Steven Villareal, Tom Abbott, Tom Carr

30-Year Award
Bill Russell, Brian Mauney, Dick Pepper, Gary Gorman, Greg Grosgebauer, Jeff Thompson, Mark McCarter, Pete Weaver

Craig Rogers, D Ray Tucker, Jim Shaler, Kevin Forrester, Mike Jennings

20-Year Award
David Thompson, Giovanni Possumato, Kevin Curley

2015 Awards:

50-Year Award
Nate Foote

45-Year Award
Roy Condon, Bruce Backus, Parker Simonds, Rod Korba, John Titus, Fred Zensen, Michael Flattery

40-Year Award
Bob Duggan, Paul Keating, Patrick Collura, Ron Ryback, Brad Scibak, Bill Ball, Mark Goldsmith

35-Year Award
Marty Topham, Gary Alabaster, Kevin Cooley, Tim Goodall, Kevin Woods, David Sloan, Anton Shulski

30-Year Award
Bob Curcio, Dennis Sayer, Bob Sutherland, Ken Rizzo, William Cumming, Guy Grosgebauer, Donald Gallagher, Robert Bowery, Fran Tarpey

25-Year Award
Kevin O'Leary, James Stewart, John Stiso, Michael Donnellan, Pete Almasy, Keith Runk, Jay Ferrell, Ty Wilkinson, Steve Dahl, J. D. Noll

20-Year Award
Mickey Blanchfield, Christopher Bynum, Bob Durland, Tim Lunn, Douglas Mauck, Chris Menzel, Don Phelan, Chris Brescia